律師團隊

鄭勝元
合夥律師
律師資格與登錄法院
  • 美國加州
  • 美國紐約州
  • 台灣
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州中區
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州北區
  • 中華民國仲裁協會 – 外國仲裁人
主要執業領域
  • 跨國法律問題
  • 訴訟
  • 商業交易
  • 專家證人與專家顧問
  • 智慧財產權
主要語言
  • 英文
  • 中文

鄭勝元律師有近20年的美國、台灣複合式執業經驗。鄭律師在2017年經過台灣法務部許可,成為全球第一位也是唯一一位可以在台灣同時執行美國與台灣法律業務的律師。鄭律師擅長處理複雜的法律問題,尤其是涉外法律問題。台、美二地多年的實務經驗讓鄭律師累積了深入、徹底的專業知識,讓鄭律師可以協助客戶處理各類型的涉外案件,提供實際、有效的策略與解決方案。

鄭勝元律師有美國加州、美國紐約州、台灣三地的律師執照,是極少數同時具備美國、台灣執業經驗的律師。鄭律師曾在許多跨國司法案件中擔任專家證人或國際訴訟顧問,鄭律師以專家身份處理過的法律議題包括美國民事法律問題、台灣民事法律問題、台灣刑事法律問題、外文公司法律文件解釋問題。

鄭勝元律師處理過許多美國境內的法律爭議。鄭律師在民事訴訟領域的經驗相當豐富,從單純的債務不履行違約爭議,到複雜的公司股東爭議、交叉授權爭議、損害賠償擔保爭議、境外強制執行、以及智慧財產權爭議,鄭律師都有第一手的實戰經驗。鄭律師也經常協助美國企業在亞洲地區對亞洲企業進行法律追訴。

鄭勝元律師也處理過許多非訟性質的商業事務,特別是進出口國際貿易、跨國合資、國際代理與經銷、以及公司法相關業務。他協助外國企業在台灣進行商業活動,也協助亞洲企業在美國境內進行商業活動。鄭律師利用他的複合式國際經驗以及對於文化差異的敏感度,協助客戶降低風險並將商業機會極大化。

較具代表性的案例
  • +
    美國商務訴訟
    代表客戶在違約爭議中贏得金額達數百萬美元的仲裁判斷,並繼續處理案件至強制執行階段。
  • +
    美國商務訴訟
    代表客戶在合資及背信爭議中,以書面判決的形式,為客戶贏得二百萬美元的賠償金。
  • +
    美國商務訴訟
    代表客戶在違反國際貿易契約爭議中取得高額的和解賠償金,成功地在訴訟中運用「揭穿公司面紗原則」追訴被告公司股東的個人責任。
  • +
    多國訴訟
    協助客戶處理在美國、中國、台灣、英屬維京群島四地同時發生的爭議與訴訟。案件內容涉及背信、侵佔、不公平競爭、竊佔營業秘密、移轉定價。以極為有利的條件為客戶取得全球性的和解方案。
  • +
    美國智慧財產權訴訟
    成功代表數位企業客戶防禦著作權侵權訴訟,案件內容涉及電腦軟體。為所有客戶爭取到條件有利的和解方案。
  • +
    國際貿易爭議
    多年來數次代表美國企業客戶處理與亞洲供應商間的爭議,爭議內容包括商業與智慧財產權爭議、在台灣執行加州法院的民事判決、在台灣法院進行訴訟。
  • +
    商業交易
    協助台灣公開發行公司在美國進行金額高達數百萬美元的策略性投資案,投資案內容涉及開發智慧財產權。撰擬相關法律文件,例如可轉換特別股文件、軟體開發契約、及軟體授權契約。
  • +
    智慧財產權爭議
    代表知名電腦硬體公司對全球各地的電商賣家主張多項美國、台灣及中國專利,成功將數十款侵權產品從亞馬遜(Amazon)網頁下架。
  • +
    商業交易
    協助台灣及中國企業處理赴美投資事宜。協助中國最大衛浴設備製造商之一併購擁有品牌和銷售渠道的美國公司,交易透過股權收購方式進行。
Loading....

Attorneys

Victor S. Cheng
Partner

 

Bars and Courts
  • State Bar of California
  • State Bar of New York
  • Taiwan Bar
  • S. District Court for the Central District of California
  • S. District Court for the Northern District of California
  • Chinese Arbitration Association – Foreign Arbitrator
Areas of Focus
  • Multi-Jurisdictional Legal Issues
  • Litigation
  • Business Transactions
  • Expert Witness and Consultant
  • Intellectual Property
Languages
  • English
  • Mandarin Chinese

Victor S. Cheng has nearly two decades of experience gained in the United States and Taiwan. He is proud to have been licensed by the Taiwan Ministry of Justice in 2017 as the first and the only attorney in the world who can practice both U.S. law and Taiwan law in Taiwan. Mr. Cheng has significant experience with complex legal matters, especially those with a cross border element. With years of experience in U.S. and Taiwan, Mr. Cheng has the in-depth knowledge required to offer strategic and cost-effective solutions to clients on a wide range of international matters.

Mr. Cheng’s career is unique in the entire legal industry. He is admitted to the bars of Taiwan, California, and New York. He is one of a few attorneys with combined legal experience in California and Taiwan. Mr. Cheng has served as an expert consultant and testifying witness for matters involving Taiwan law and U.S. law as well as matters involving legal documents written in Chinese and/or English.

Mr. Cheng has had extensive experience in handling disputes in U.S. He has been extensively involved in all aspects of civil litigation ranging from two-party contract disputes to complex, multi-party controversies in cases involving corporate disputes, contract disputes, cross-licensing, indemnification, extraterritorial enforcement, and intellectual property-related issues. He also regularly assists U.S. companies with prosecuting extraterritorial legal actions against companies based out of Asia. 

Mr. Cheng also has significant experience in assisting companies on a wide range of business and commercial matters, with particular emphasis on international sales and distribution, joint ventures, and corporate transactions. He advises foreign companies on doing business in Taiwan and also advises Asia-based companies on outbound investments in the U.S. Mr. Cheng leverages his vast cross-border experience and cultural awareness to structure innovative transactions that control risks and maximize business opportunities.

Representative Matters
  • +
    U.S. Business Litigation
    Won multi-million award in breach of contract arbitration. Continued to represent client in all post-arbitration motion practice and collection.
  • +
    U.S. Business Litigation
    Won nearly $2 million summary judgment in joint venture dispute and breach of fiduciary duty litigation.
  • +
    U.S. Business Litigation
    Obtained substantial settlement payment in breach of international sales contract and commercial code litigation, after aggressively litigating “alter ego” claim.
  • +
    Multi-Jurisdictional Litigation
    Performed lead role in several concurrent disputes and lawsuits in the U.S., China, Taiwan, and the British Virgin Islands with issues involving allegations of breach of fiduciary duty, embezzlement, unfair competition, trade secret misappropriation, and tax avoidance. Obtained favorable global settlement for clients.
  • +
    U.S. Intellectual Property Litigation
    Successfully defended software copyright infringement suit. Obtained favorable pre-trial settlement for all clients.
  • +
    International Commercial Disputes
    Represented U.S. companies in resolution of commercial and intellectual property disputes with Asian manufacturers and suppliers, including enforcement of a California state court civil judgment in Taiwan and extraterritorial litigation in Taiwan courts.
  • +
    Commercial Transaction
    Advised a Taiwan publicly-traded company in a multi-million-dollar strategic investment in U.S. to foster the development of intellectual property. Worked on relevant legal papers, such as convertible preferred stock documents and a master software development and license agreement.
  • +
    Intellectual Property Disputes
    Represented a major computer products company in asserting its U.S., Taiwan, and China patents against numerous Amazon sellers around the globe, resulting in removal of dozens of infringing products from Amazon.com.
  • +
    Commercial Transaction
    Advised Taiwan and China companies on matters involving U.S. inbound investment. Assisted one of the largest plumbing fixture manufacturers in China in acquiring a U.S. brand owner and distributor through negotiated stock purchase transaction.
Loading....