律師團隊

Calvin C.S. Yap
顧問
加州

 

律師資格與登錄法院
  • 美國加州
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州中區
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州北區
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州南區
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州東區
  • 美國聯邦上訴法院 – 第九上訴管轄區
主要執業領域
  • 公司法及證券交易法
  • 企業籌資、私募、聯貸
  • 各類商業交易
  • 企業合併、收購
  • 不動產開發、商業租賃
主要語言
  • 英文

Calvin C.S. Yap律師在1981年從全美排名前10名的西北大學法學院取得法學博士學位(J.D.)。20多年以來,他持續在美國權威律師評鑑機構Martindale-Hubbell獲得AV-5.0的優異評分。AV-5.0的評分是律師能夠拿的最高分,Martindale-Hubbell的滿分評鑑,不僅證明Yap律師優異的工作品質,更反映他的專業操守以及在律師同業中的聲望。

Yap律師處理過許多不同類型的商業交易,迄今已在美國累積超過35年的經驗。Yap律師擅長公司法、不動產法、募資及擔保交易。他的客戶有地方型的家族企業,也有在多國上市的跨國企業集團。Yap律師最擅長的交易類型包括併購經營中公司、買賣商業不動產、為製造商建立經銷網絡及安排授權、公司重整、財務重整、由賣方融資的不動產交易、美國商業法典(Uniform Commercial Code)規定之交易、EB-5投資移民等等。對於以創新方式利用現代科技提供金融相關服務的金融科技(FinTech),Yap律師亦有涉獵。

Yap律師代表過的客戶包括美國銀行(Bank of America)、美國聯邦存款保險公司(Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation)、重組信託公司(Resolution Trust Corporation)等等。聯邦存款保險公司及重組信託公司是在美國的儲貸危機中,負責清算不良金融資產和整頓問題金融機構的二個公營企業。

Yap 律師親自處理過超過500筆的商業交易。他協助客戶設計複雜的不動產交換交易、談判並撰擬不動產抵押投資載體的法律文件(Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC))、買賣全美連鎖的大型飯店。Yap 律師也協助客戶以長期租賃方式取得土地使用權,並開發為大型購物商場、A級(最高等級)商業辦公大樓、住宅,並於租約期滿後將建築改良物轉讓予地主。

Yap 律師不僅僅處理美國境內交易,他也相當熟悉跨國性質的商業交易。Yap 律師經常向美國及外國客戶提供法律諮詢,內容包括企業法人設立、法令遵循、企業併購、資產買賣、企業融資及私募發行等等。Yap 律師也擅長處理各類與不動產有關的商業交易,包括買賣商業不動產或住宅。

較具代表性的案例
  • +
    商業交易
    許多美國境外的製造商都有類似的經驗 – 當美國客戶/經銷商拖欠應付帳款時,除了花錢打官司之外,還有沒有其它的解決方案? 答案是有的。Yap律師協助境外製造商以應收帳款做為出資,取得美國公司的股權及/或公司債。在過程中,Yap律師除了為客戶對美國公司進行財務、營運及法令遵循的盡職調查外,Yap律師還透過談判及鑑價的方式,協助客戶估定美國公司的價值。Yap律師更為客戶重新改造美國公司內部的治理架構,確保客戶不僅取得股權,還能夠實質介入美國公司的經營,並掌握美國公司的財務運作。在交易過程中,Yap律師為客戶撰擬了大量的法律文件,包括股權買賣契約、借貸契約、清償順位契約、個人連帶保證契約、股東協議契約、董事會、股東會決議、修改美國公司章程、讓美國公司發行普通股、特別股給境外製造商、讓美國公司原經營高層重新簽訂附競業禁止條款的僱傭及委任契約、向美國證券交易委員會申報相關交易等等。
  • +
    商業交易
    協助客戶完成對美投資案。這宗投資案的標的對象是一家美國發電廠,該美國發電廠剛剛取得拉丁美洲政府的重要訂單,要為該國製造、組裝發電機並進行供電。Yap律師一方面協助客戶對美國發電廠進行一切必要的財務、營運及法令遵循(包括限制科技輸出法令)的盡職調查,同時為客戶爭取到極為有利的分階段投資計劃,將總投資金額分割成數階段逐步完成。第一階段先以可轉換公司債的方式進行,並以發電廠的資產作為擔保,後續若發電廠可順利達成各階段性目標,客戶再逐步加碼購買特別股。特別股的條件當然也是極度優惠海外客戶,不僅支付客戶高額股利,並且得轉換為高成數的普通股,讓客戶可以控制美國公司董事會。此外,美國發電廠的原始股東也同意降低自己對於公司債權的清償順位,大幅提高對於投資方客戶的保障。Yap律師精心設計的交易架構讓客戶進可攻,退可守;若投資獲利達成預期目標,客戶可以加碼投資,若獲利不如預期,客戶可以選擇止血退場。
Loading....

Attorneys

Calvin C.S. Yap
Senior Of Counsel

 

Bars and Courts
  • State Bar of California
  • S. District Court for the Central District of California
  • S. District Court for the Northern District of California
  • S. District Court for the Southern District of California
  • S. District Court for the Eastern District of California
  • S. Court of Appeals, 9th Circuit
Areas of Focus
  • Corporate Law and Securities
  • Financing, Private Offerings and Syndications
  • Commercial Transactions
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Real Property, Commercial Leasing and Development
Languages
  • English

Calvin C.S. Yap received his Doctorate of Jurisprudence (J.D.) in 1981 from the prestigious Pritzker School of Law at Northwestern University and has been continually awarded the prestigious AV-5.0 rating by Martindale-Hubbell for over 20 years.  The AV-5.0 rating is the highest rating for lawyers in the United States and provides assurance of both quality of work and integrity.

Mr. Yap has more than 35 years of experience in all aspects of commercial transactions. Mr. Yap practices corporate law, real property law, financing and secured transactions. His experience ranges from representation of small family owned businesses to international publicly traded companies. Mr. Yap’s representative transactions include the purchase and sale of on-going businesses and commercial properties; establishment of distributorship and licensing arrangements; corporate and financial restructurings; mergers and acquisitions for various industry sectors; seller financed transactions; Uniform Commercial Code matters; and EB-5 Investments. Mr. Yap also has experience with creative and innovative use of modern technology in the delivery of financial services (FinTech).

Mr. Yap has represented the Bank of America, the Resolution Trust Corporation, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and a unique group of clients who have engaged in an astonishing number of transactions during the past 30 years. 

Mr. Yap has personally handled over 500 commercial transactions. The matters have ranged from structuring complex real property exchanges, negotiating and documenting REMIC (Conduit) financing, purchasing nationally franchised hotels, “power” shopping centers and class “A” office building to long term ground lease estates, ongoing business and single family homes.

Mr. Yap is well versed in both interstate and international transactions. Mr. Yap has counseled public and private companies on a broad range of corporate and transactional matters, including corporate formation, compliance issues, mergers and acquisitions, asset purchase transactions, corporate finance, and private offerings. He also specializes in a broad range of real estate transactions, including the purchase and the sale of residential and commercial properties.

Representative Matters
  • +
    Commercial Transaction
    Offshore manufacturers often are not able to collect trade receivables from their struggling U.S. distributors and customers. In certain situations, Mr. Yap will structure an exchange of the outstanding debt for equity or a combination of debt and equity in the U.S. distributor or customer. In addition to conducting all requisite financial, corporate and regulatory due diligence, Mr. Yap will facilitate a valuation of the company either through negotiations between the parties or by appraisal. Mr. Yap will also restructure the corporate governance to ensure financial control and operational participation by the creditor. Typical documents prepared for these transactions are stock purchase agreements, amendments to the articles of incorporation, issuance of additional common or preferred stock, employment agreements with covenants not to compete, corporate minutes and resolutions, all requisite corporate and SEC filings, loan documents, subordination agreements, shareholder agreements and limited personal guaranties.
  • +
    Commercial Transaction
    In a recent matter, a client wanted to make a substantial investment in a U.S. power generation company. The company had recently signed an agreement with a Latin American government to manufacture and install power generators in their country, which generators would supply supplemental power to the state utility company when needed. In addition to the requisite financial, corporate and regulatory due diligence, including compliance with all U.S. export restrictions, Mr. Yap was able to negotiate a multi-step investment in the company to reduce the client’s risk. Rather than investing the total amount as capital, Mr. Yap structured an initial investment as a convertible debenture, secured by the assets of the corporation. If certain milestones were reached, the client would incrementally purchase preferred shares that paid a dividend and were convertible into enough common shares to elect a majority of the board of directors. The principal shareholders all agreed to subordinate their loans to the company, as well. The client was able to monitor its investment and determine whether to invest more as the company prospered or to cut its losses if it struggled.
Loading....