律師團隊

Franklin G. Gibbs
顧問
加州

 

律師資格與登錄法院
  • 美國加州
  • 美國專利商標局
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州中區
  • 美國聯邦法院 – 加州北區
主要執業領域
  • 訴訟
  • 智慧財產權申請及相關諮詢
主要語言
  • 英文

Franklin G. Gibbs律師是在美國專利商標局登錄的專利律師,他為客戶申請美國專利,並且可以在專利申請遭拒時,代表客戶向專利局的上訴與爭議委員會提出救濟。

Gibbs律師具備物理及理工背景,曾經在美國休斯飛機公司擔任工程師及經理長達14年的時間,擁有相當豐富的工程實踐經驗。Gibbs律師代表的客戶範圍廣泛,有個人、中小型企業,也有與美國太空總署進行複雜技術移轉授權談判的大型航太科技公司。

除了辦理專利申請案件,作為一個具有堅強理工背景的智慧財產權訴訟律師,Gibbs律師處理過的智慧財產權案件類型也相當豐富,包括複雜的專利侵權訴訟、著作與商標侵權訴訟、營業秘密與不公平競爭訴訟。Gibbs律師服務過的客戶產業類別包括航太科技公司、智慧型手機、半導體、電腦硬碟和汽車工業。他協助客戶維護智慧財產權,處理技術授權事宜,並且提供與營業秘密及保密協議有關的法律諮詢。

Gibbs律師曾經在許多複雜的專利侵權訴訟和著作權侵權訴訟中擔任首席訴訟律師,負責統籌規劃從開始到結束各個訴訟程序的任務內容,包括書面取證、撰擬各類型的聲請書狀、撰擬論述專利無效理由的書狀、撰擬論述不侵權理由的書狀、準備馬克曼聽證會所需的訴訟書狀、出席馬克曼聽證會進行言詞辯論、詰問證人及錄取口頭證詞、進行美國專利局的專利舉發程序以及訴訟外的授權談判。

較具代表性的案例
  • +
    美國專利訴訟
    在Lin Packaging Technologies, Ltd. 對力晶半導體公司 (Powerchip Semiconductor Corporation) 的專利侵權訴訟中代表記憶體晶片製造公司力晶半導體。該案繫屬於德州東區聯邦法院,專利涉及半導體記憶體技術。
  • +
    美國專利訴訟
    在Crossroads Systems, Inc. 對 Dot Hill Systems Corporation的專利侵權訴訟中代表Dot Hill (Dot Hill是一家在那斯達克上市的資料存儲解決方案公司)。該案繫屬於德州東區聯邦法院,專利涉及電腦路由器技術。
  • +
    美國專利訴訟
    在Datascape, Inc.對Sprint企業集團的專利侵權訴訟中代表Sprint企業集團 (Sprint是美國著名的手機通信服務商)。該案繫屬於喬治亞州北區聯邦法院,專利涉及智慧型手機相關技術。
  • +
    美國專利訴訟
    在Heraus Inc. 對光洋應用材料科技 (Solar Applied Material Technology Corporation) 的專利侵權訴訟中代表光洋應用材料科技 (光洋是全球領先的貴金屬與稀有金屬及薄膜靶材製造廠)。該案繫屬於加州北區聯邦法院,專利涉及半導體技術。
  • +
    美國專利訴訟
    在Fellowes, Inc. 對美國震旦公司 (Aurora Corporation of America) 的專利侵權訴訟中代表美國震旦公司(震旦是知名辦公家俱、自動化設備製造商)。該案繫屬於伊利諾州北區聯邦法院,專利涉及電子感應技術。
Loading....

Attorneys

Franklin G. Gibbs
California IP Law Chair Of Counsel
Bars and Courts
  • State Bar of California
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office
  • S. District Court for the Central District of California
  • S. District Court for the Northern District of California
Areas of Focus
  • Litigation
  • Intellectual Property Prosecution and Counseling
Languages
  • English

Franklin G. Gibbs is a patent attorney admitted to practice patent prosecution before the United States Patent and Trademark Office and to practice appeals before the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences.

With physics and engineering background, including fourteen years of management and engineering experience at Hughes Aircraft Company, Mr. Gibbs has worked with various clients ranging from the individual inventor seeking intellectual property protection for simple inventions, to multi-million dollar aerospace companies in complex licensing negotiations with entities such as NASA.

As an experienced litigation attorney with a strong background in intellectual property, in addition to patent prosecution matters, Mr. Gibbs has worked on a wide range of intellectual property matters including complex patent infringement litigation as well as copyright and trademark litigation, trade secrets and unfair competition. Mr. Gibbs has represented domestic and international companies in the aerospace, smartphone, semi-conductor, computer hard-drive and automotive industries. He advises clients on intellectual property protection, technology licensing, privacy and non-disclosure matters.

Mr. Gibbs has been lead counsel on numerous complex patent infringement and copyright actions. Mr. Gibbs has directed all stages of complex patent litigation including discovery, motion practice, invalidity contentions, infringement contentions, Markman hearings, depositions, motions in limine, trial briefs, ex-parte reexamination petitions before the USPTO, and settlement negotiations.

Representative Matters
  • +
    U.S. Patent Litigation
    Lin Packaging Technologies, Ltd. v. Powerchip Semiconductor Corporation - represented Powerchip Semiconductor Corporation, a Taiwan-based publicly-traded DRAM manufacturer in Eastern District of Texas. The patent in that case concerned semiconductor memory technology.
  • +
    U.S. Patent Litigation
    Crossroads Systems, Inc. v. Dot Hill Systems Corporation - represented Dot Hill, a publicly-traded data solution company, in Eastern District of Texas. The patent in that case concerned computer router technology.
  • +
    U.S. Patent Litigation
    Datascape, Inc. v. Sprint Nextel Corporation, et al. - represented Sprint, one of the leading publicly-traded wireless telecommunications company, in Northern District of Georgia. The patent in that case concerned smartphone technology.
  • +
    U.S. Patent Litigation
    Heraus Inc. v. Solar Applied Material Technology Corporation - represented Solar Applied Material Technology Corporation, a Taiwan-based precious metal and thin film targets manufacturer, in Northern District of California. The patent in that case concerned semiconductor technology.
  • +
    U.S. Patent Litigation
    Fellowes, Inc. v. Aurora Corporation of America - defended Aurora Corporation, a Southern California-based office equipment manufacturer, in Northern District of Illinois. The patent in that case concerned electronics technology.
Loading....